Why Susanne Quistgaard swims – Team Tachywaves

Susanne Quistgaard is a multi-year Seattle Swim veteran and team captain

Swimming helped shape my life into what it is today. Remember that book All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten? I could write the book All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Swimming.

I took my first swim lesson at age 4, joined a team at age 8, and swam competitively through high school. Swimming taught me to set goals and work hard. It taught me good sportsmanship and how to get along with others. It taught me to be interested in my health, which ultimately sparked my interest in medicine and led to my career in family medicine.

Swim Across America is the perfect combination of two of my life passions – health and swimming. I swim for the many patients that touch my life with their struggles against cancer. I swim for my former work partner, Dr. Jeff Schlameus, who died 4 years ago from chemotherapy complications. I swim for my fellow book group member, Donna Walsh, who lost her battle with lymphoma a little over a year ago. I swim for my lifelong friend, Christi Hanks, who was diagnosed with breast cancer and melanoma last year. I swim for my son’s friend, Evan Dubicki, who was diagnosed with leukemia at age 2. I swim for my high school friend’s mom, Cindy Karst, who is currently battling breast cancer.

Swimming makes me a better person. I swim for myself and for others. How perfect is that?

Categories: Teams, Why we swim | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

